News for 5/16/2018

TRHS Graduation

Class of 2018 Class motto: “Our lives are before us, our past is behind us, and our memories are forever within us.” Class flower the White Lily and Class Colors were Royal Blue and Silver.

Congrats to the graduating class of 2018. Your future holds endless possibilities!

The Thunder Ridge Senior High Commencement Ceremony took place Sunday afternoon, May 6th at 3:00pm in the Thunder Ridge High School gymnasium. Twelve students graduated but only 11 were present to walk the stage and receive their congratulations: Justis Bapat, Brayden Brenneman, Cassidy Gillespie, Kelli Glennemeier, Seth Loyd, Lillie Massey, Bruce Massey, Tyler McReynolds, Kennedy Rietzke, Brock Wallgren, and Morgan Westbrook. Foreign exchange student Javier “Kiko” Moreno Ortega, who had been residing with the Hendryx family, had already made his voyage back home to Spain.

Mrs, Kristi Reneberg played the processional and Pastor Dave Hutson delivered the invocation. Principal and Superintendent Mr. Jeff Yoxall introduced the Salutatorian, Kennedy Rietzke, and Valedictorian, Morgan Westbrook, who each gave their speech. A multimedia presentation was played while the Class of 2018 gave white lily flowers and recognition to their parents. Mr. Yoxall then presented the graduating class. Diplomas were handed by board member Mr. Darin McDowell and tassel moved by Mr. Yoxall as Mr. Wiens announced each student. Class sponsors Brooke McDowell and Sarah Molzahn then conducted the traditional ribbon cutting ceremony. Benediction was given by Pastor Dave Hutson and the recessional played.

Senior awards and local scholarships given included:

American Legion Award- Morgan Westbrook and Seth Loyd;

KSHSAA Award- Kennedy Rietzke and Seth Loyd;

Governor's Scholars- Morgan Westbrook;

Kansas Honor Scholar- Morgan Westbrook;

Sons of the American Legions Scholarship- Kennedy Rietzke;

American Legion Auxiliary Post #166 Scholarship- Kennedy Rietzke and Morgan Westbrook;

Vada Bonnett American Legion Auxiliary- Kennedy Rietzke and Morgan Westbrook;

American Legion & Auxiliary Post #357 Scholarship- Morgan Westbrook;

Carl and Martha Grauerholz Memorial Scholarship- Cassidy Gillespie;